They use a procedure called “wheel position weighing,” which is only available at RV weigh stations. This service costs $55 or so but is more accurate. You may also be able to weigh your rig at certain sand & gravel yards, grain elevators, farm co-ops, or feed mills… possibly even for free.
Where can I weigh my RV?
Some places where you can weigh your RV:
- RVSEF Weight & Tire Safety Program a service offered at many RV rallies and shows.
- CAT Scales.
- Weber Son & Service Repair Inc.
- Truck stops.
- Farm co-ops or feed mills.
- Some sand and gravel yards.
Can I weigh my trailer at a weigh station?
Some places you can weigh your trailer are: CAT scales and other weigh stations. Truck stops. Locations listed on some RVer websites.
Do RV campers have to stop at weigh stations?
There are specific state laws on weigh stations. But it appears that most states may look the other way when an RV comes rolling by. You can rest assured if your Gross Combined Weight Rating (GCWR) is less than 10,000 pounds, you will never be required to stop at a weigh station in the USA.
What states require motorhomes to stop at weigh stations?
Arkansas, Georgia, Iowa, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, North Dakota, Ohio, Rhode Island, Washington (State), and Wisconsin require privately-owned RVs, specialty vehicles, passenger vehicles, and trailers over 10,000 lbs to stop.
How do you weight an RV?
According to the RVSEF: The ONLY way to properly weigh your RV is by wheel position. Your tires and wheels are the foundation of your RV, and each has a maximum weight rating. Unless you know the load being carried by each wheel position, you have no way to know the proper inflation of your tires.
How do you determine the weight of a travel trailer?
Weight is calculated by adding the RV’s Gross Vehicle Weight with the weights of passengers, liquids or cargo in your vehicle.
How do I weigh my trailer tongue weight?
To weigh RV tongue weight, place the tongue of the trailer on a tongue weight scale. The TW can also be found by weighing your tow vehicle on a vehicle scale by itself and comparing it to the vehicle weight when the trailer is coupled.
How much does it cost to weigh a truck at a weigh station?
Is there a fee for using Weigh My Truck? There are currently no additional charges from CAT Scale for using Weigh My Truck. Pricing for U.S. Locations is $12.50 for a first weigh and $3.00 for a reweigh.
Who has to stop at weigh stations Canada?
The posted requirement at the permanent weigh scale inspection stations is for all commercial vehicles to stop if they have a gross mass in excess of 4,500 kilograms. In practice, commercial vehicles such as busses do not adhere to this requirement.
Do pickups with trailers need to stop at weigh stations?
As far as pulling a trailer with a pickup truck and the trailer does not exceed or have a GVWR of more than 10,000 pounds, and you are not for hire, you will also not need to stop at a weigh station. Remember that all trailers with a gross weight of 3,000 or more must be equipped with brakes on all wheels.
Who has to stop at weigh stations in Georgia?
Q: Do I need to stop at a weigh station in Georgia? A: If the vehicle or combination is 10,001 lbs. GVWR or actual gross weight or over, you must pull into all open weight and inspection stations. Signs, lighted arrows, or enforcement personnel will guide you.
Do RVs have to stop at weigh stations in Florida?
Here is a breakdown of basic RV weigh station rules by state: Vehicles weighing 10,000 pounds or more are required to stop in 20 of the 50 United States. … States with recreational vehicle exclusions include North Dakota and Florida. Large recreational vehicles are subject to weighing and inspection in Pennsylvania.
Do you need a special license to drive an RV in Utah?
Here is the simple answer: You don’t need a special license to drive most motorhomes. If you’re driving any vehicle under 26,000 pounds — and most RV classes are — you are clear to drive with a regular operator’s driver’s license according to current DMV laws in all 50 states.
Do you need a special license to drive an RV in Pennsylvania?
No, you do not need a CDL to drive a motorhome in PA. However, a Class B license is required for a single vehicle over 26,000 lb, and a Non-CDL is required for multiple vehicles with a combined weight of over 26,000 lb.